Board of Interior Design


The interior design profession was first regulated by the Specialty Board of Interior Design created by and under the Board of Architecture through Board Resolution No. 21 series of 1982.

The Specialty Board was composed of Julio D. Matias as Chairman with Lor L. Calma and Belen Sablan-Morey as Members. The Specialty Board held its first licensure examinations on August 22, 1983, and conducted its first fully-computerized licensure examinations on October 5, 1994, releasing the results on November 11 of the same year.

By virtue of Republic Act No. 8534 entitled “Philippine Interior Design Act of 1998” which was approved on February 1998 upon the active pursuit of legislation by then Chairman Arch. Leticia Limpo, the Specialty Board became a full-pledged Board independent of the Board of Architecture. It became the Board of Interior Design.

Information Visit webpage of other Boards

Official Gazette
Open Data Portal